Author Archives: Katy K.

About Katy K.

I'm a librarian and book worm who believes that children and adults deserve great books to read.

The Enemy is Fear Part 2: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann

This one is for fans of superheroes and puzzle mysteries. Etta Invincibleby  Reese Eschmann. Illustrated by Gretel Lusky Aladdin, 2022 ISBN 9781534468375 Read from a library copy.  Chicago girl Etta lives with Quiet Days, where her ears are filled with … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Enemy is Fear: the Clackity by Lora Senf

The Clackity by Lora Senf is a delightfully creepy book to please fans of both contemporary and classic fantasy horror. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print, Reviews | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Cover was Blue: Goblin Market, Bookshop of Dust and Dreams, and Water, Water

Here are three very different Cybils-nominated books, all with blue overs. Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print, Reviews, Sci-Fi | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

The Button Box by Bridget Hodder and Fawzia Gilani-William

For the younger middle grade set comes this exciting time travel adventure set in early medieval Morocco. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Historical, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Spell Sweeper by Lee Edward Födi

Spell Sweeper by Lee Edward Födi is a fun twist on the classic magic school story, perfect for fans of Star Trek: Lower Decks. Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Freddie vs. the Family Curse by Tracy Badua

Freddie vs. the Family Curse by Tracy Badua is a great book for fans of over-the-top humor, with a healthy dose of personal growth and Filipino-American culture. Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Ravenfall by Kalyn Josephson

It’s the perfect time of year to curl up with a mug of hot mulled cider to read Ravenfall by Kalyn Josephson, a creepy-cozy story of supernatural happenings around Samhain. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

8 Eerie Books for Middle Grade Readers

Here are 8 eerie books that have come out in the last couple of years, perfect for Halloween (or any other time of year.) Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Lists | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna

If you’re in the mood for a comfortingly cozy yet witchy (and witty) story, take a look at Sangu Mandanna’s debut adult book! Continue reading

Posted in Adult, Books, Fantasy, Print, Romance | Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments

Terrifying Monsters: Let the Monster Out and Secret of the Shadow Beasts

Here are two books for the fall season, where two group of kids must fight very different monsters in very different ways. Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment