Category Archives: Format

The Button Box by Bridget Hodder and Fawzia Gilani-William

For the younger middle grade set comes this exciting time travel adventure set in early medieval Morocco. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Historical, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Spell Sweeper by Lee Edward Födi

Spell Sweeper by Lee Edward Födi is a fun twist on the classic magic school story, perfect for fans of Star Trek: Lower Decks. Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Freddie vs. the Family Curse by Tracy Badua

Freddie vs. the Family Curse by Tracy Badua is a great book for fans of over-the-top humor, with a healthy dose of personal growth and Filipino-American culture. Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Ravenfall by Kalyn Josephson

It’s the perfect time of year to curl up with a mug of hot mulled cider to read Ravenfall by Kalyn Josephson, a creepy-cozy story of supernatural happenings around Samhain. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna

If you’re in the mood for a comfortingly cozy yet witchy (and witty) story, take a look at Sangu Mandanna’s debut adult book! Continue reading

Posted in Adult, Books, Fantasy, Print, Romance | Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments

Terrifying Monsters: Let the Monster Out and Secret of the Shadow Beasts

Here are two books for the fall season, where two group of kids must fight very different monsters in very different ways. Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Mysterious Travelers: Prince of Nowhere and the Lock-Eater

Here are two 2022 middle grade fantasy books, both with characters named Traveler and automata, as well as other cool things like dragons, griffins, and time travel. Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print, Reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 8 Comments

Alliana, Girl of Dragons by Julie Abe

I was eagerly awaiting this origin story of Eva’s mother’s best friend, Queen Alliana – especially since it includes dragons. Continue reading

Posted in Books, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , , | 5 Comments

The Other Side of the River by Alda P. Dobbs

This freshly imagined story of an immigrant girl, taking off from the author’s grandmother’s story, is filled with determination, hard-won joy, as well as hope and humor. Continue reading

Posted in Historical, Middle Grade, Print | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Magical Schools: Wildseed Witch and Onyeka and the Academy of the Sun

Here are two exciting new magical school books, both with kids at all-Black schools, one drawing on Louisiana’s Black history and one set in a futuristic Nigeria. Continue reading

Posted in Audiobook, Fantasy, Middle Grade, Print, Sci-Fi | Tagged , , , , , | 9 Comments